Arrested for a DUI in Dupage County Illinois, what next?
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Dupage County, this article will describe the process of what will occur. After the police officer arrests you for a DUI, he will take you to the police station and will request that you submit to a breathalyzer. If you refuse, your license will be suspended for one year under the Statutory Summary Suspension Laws. If you take the breathalyzer and register .08 or greater as a BAC, your license will be suspended for six months if you are a first offender. You will be released by typically posting your driver’s license and $100 bond. The officer will you give you a court date approximately 3 to 4 weeks later. You must appear on that date at the DuPage County Judicial Center, located at 505 N. County Farm Road, Wheaton, Illinois 60187. There is a parking garage by the building.
The case will typically be prosecuted by the DuPage County State’s Attorney’s Office. However, some municipalities including Oak Brook, Carol Stream and West Chicago to name a few prosecute the offenses themselves and hire private attorneys. On your first appearance date, you will be required to pass through a metal detector. Any cellular phones that have a video recording device or camera will not be allowed into the courthouse. Your case will be assigned to one of three court rooms 4002, 4015 or 4017. Your first appearance will be at 9:00 AM. The judges will call all private attorney cases first. If you do not have an attorney, the wait may be one hour. The judge will ask if you retained an attorney and how you plead. The judge will typically set a new court date within 30 days to give you an opportunity to obtain an attorney. It is strongly recommended that your hire an attorney who is experienced in DUI law and is familiar with the DuPage County DUI Process. It is vital that you hire a DuPage County DUI Attorney. The criminal prosecution of a DUI can take as little as two months or as long as one year.