What Are The DUI Penalties In Illinois?

All aspects of a DUI arrest are frightening. Wondering how this will affect your future is one of the most overwhelming parts of the experience.

With sound legal help, you can protect your license, record and future. The Law Offices of Johnson & Buh provides experienced DUI defense in Geneva and Wheaton. Learn how we can help you fight DUI charges and minimize the penalties.

First Offense

If you are convicted of drunk driving in Illinois, the first offense will result in a minimum one-year suspension of your driver's license. In addition, you may be imprisoned for up to one year and fined up to $2,500. If you were transporting a person under the age of 16 at the time of the violation, you are subject to an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, an additional mandatory minimum 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours of community service in a program benefiting children, and an additional two days of imprisonment.

Second Offense

For a second drunk driving conviction, you will receive a minimum three-year suspension of your driver's license. You will also receive a mandatory 48 hours in jail or 10 days of community service. You may receive up to one year in jail for your second drunk driving conviction in Illinois and a maximum fine of $2,500. If, at the time of the second violation, you were transporting a person under age 16, you are subject to an additional 10 days of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and an additional mandatory minimum 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours of community service in a program benefiting children.

Third Offense

If you receive a third drunk driving conviction, you will receive a minimum six-year loss of your driving privileges and you may be imprisoned for up to three years. In addition, you will also receive a maximum fine of $10,000. If, at the time of the third violation, you were transporting a person under age 16, you are guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall receive, in addition to any other penalty imposed, an additional mandatory fine of $1,000, an additional mandatory 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours in a program benefiting children, and a mandatory minimum 30 days of imprisonment.

2009 — New DUI Laws In Effect In Illinois

As of Jan. 1, 2009, people convicted of DUI must install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) if they want driving relief during their license suspension. With the BAIID device installed, drivers must submit to a breath test every time they start their vehicle.

Don't Wait — Contact Us Today

Please contact us online or call our offices at 630-492-1893 to schedule a free consultation.