Protecting Your Driver’s License After A DUI

In Illinois, if you are convicted of driving under the influence, your license may be revoked for up to 10 years or life, depending on the number of prior DUI convictions. Once a driver's license is revoked for DUI, there is no automatic reinstatement. To have your driver's license reinstated, you must apply for an administrative hearing before the Illinois secretary of state.

Whether you are facing a suspension or revocation of your license, it is imperative to obtain legal representation to guide you through this complex legal process. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Johnson & Buh in Geneva and Wheaton have the experience to handle drunk driving driver's license reinstatements. If you are a truck driver, we can help you protect or restore your commercial driver's license privileges. Speak with one of our lawyers today. Initial consultations are free.

Requesting A Statutory Summary Suspension Hearing

If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, you must request a hearing to prevent your driver's license from being suspended 46 days after your arrest. This petition for a hearing must be filed within a specific time period, and the grounds to contest the suspension are limited by law.

Applying For A Reinstatement Hearing

After you have been convicted of DUI, we can help you apply for an administrative hearing before the Illinois secretary of state to pursue reinstatement of your driver's license. For the reinstatement of your driver's license, you must prove to the Secretary of State's office your commitment to safety and sobriety as an Illinois driver. Officials will ask numerous questions regarding current and previous alcohol use.

We will help you prepare for these questions and provide sound legal counsel to strengthen your case. The firm has relationships with DUI counselors and treatment providers to make sure you are on the right track.

Get Started Today

To schedule a free consultation, please call 630-492-1893. You can also send us an email.